Real Estate Pro Articles

Homes with LEED-Certification

[Valid RSS feed]  Category Rss Feed -
By : Sonia Smith    99 or more times read
The Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design or LEED is created by the Green Building Council of the United States. This system measures construction methods used in home structure. This provides buyers with nature friendly homes.

In order for a home to be LEED certified, the construction should contain nature friendly methods, which include using recycled materials, eliminating waste generated due to construction, use of materials that do not emit harmful substances to nature. The LEED certification is a terrific guide for homeowners who want to buy or renovate their present homes and make it more nature friendly. Moreover, a home to be certified also needs the assessment of a third party and ensures that you get certification by adhering to eco-friendly standards.

The LEED promotes building and designing green homes. The system contains four categories used in measuring the overall performance of a home. Every category has certain credit numbers and each credit is worth one or more points. A home is given a LEED Certification based on the total point scored. The four certifications include LEED Certified for a home with scores from 45 to 50, LEED Silver for those scoring from 60 to 74 points, LEED Gold for those homes with 75 to 89 points and LEED Platinum for homes scoring from 90 to 128 points. The builder can choose which credits to follower for a home a home to be certified.

Among the four categories, there are eight mandatory measures that must be accomplished in each LEED-certified home. Below are eight categories and the corresponding points.

  1. Innovation and Design Process nine points are given for using unique regional credits, measures not presently addressed in the rating system, special design methods and excellent performance levels.

  2. Linkages and Location ten points for placing homes in environmentally and socially responsible methods with regards to the bigger community.

  3. Sustainable Sites twenty-one points for using the whole property to minimize the effect of the project on the site.

  4. Water Efficiency fifteen points given to outdoor and indoor conservation practices that are built into the home.

  5. Energy and Atmosphere thirty points for improving energy efficiency, especially in the heating and cooling design of the home.

  6. Resources and Materials fourteen points for choosing nature friendly materials, minimizing waste during the construction and using materials more effectively.

  7. Indoor Environmental Quality twenty points for the improvement of the quality of indoor air by minimizing possible pollution in the air.

  8. Awareness and Education three points for educating a homeowner, building manager or tenant regarding maintenance and operations of the energy features of the home.

The LEED certificate is the only national homes rating that clearly defines and establishes the features of a green home. It allows builders around the country to get a green LEED rating recognized by homebuyers throughout the country. Builders using LEED can differentiate these homes as some of the best homes in the market. Moreover, the LEED certification makes it easy for buyers to easily identify high quality eco-friendly homes.
Enjoy the views in Scenic Property in Goodyear AZ, horse properties in Goodyear Horse Properties and more privacy in Goodyear Gated Homes.

Related Articles

Print This Article
Add To Favorites


Warning: include(): http:// wrapper is disabled in the server configuration by allow_url_include=0 in /home/onlineb1/public_html/realestateproarticles/inc/ on line 149

Warning: include( failed to open stream: no suitable wrapper could be found in /home/onlineb1/public_html/realestateproarticles/inc/ on line 149

Warning: include(): Failed opening '' for inclusion (include_path='.:/usr/local/php56/pear') in /home/onlineb1/public_html/realestateproarticles/inc/ on line 149


© All rights reserved to Real Estate Pro Articles